skip to main content
Design Image
Design Image
Design Image

 

Welcome to our school website!

Hello Parents, 

Thank you for a wonderful year!  Our vision is "Excellence through Achievement in every Field of Endeavor,” and the students are making it happen!  Our band, choir, sports, and academic teams have performed better than they have in many years, and in some cases, better than ever!  Oh boy! This has been a great year and we are anticipating an even greater one next year!

Willie Bolden, Principal

  

Our Vision, Our Mission

Our Vision is to exemplify excellence through achievement in every field of endeavor. Our Mission is to develop Academic Excellence, Social and Cultural Enrichment, Community Engagement, and College and Career Readiness in our young men and women with a sense of understanding and compassion for others. 

 

 Gallup Student Poll Survey

 


                       GENTRY HIGH SCHOOL

                     Excellence Through Achievement in Every Field of Endeavor

           RAM ENOUGH GOALS! 2018-2022 

GENTRY HIGH SCHOOL

Mr. Willie Bolden, Principal - wbolden@sunflower.k12.ms.us 

Mr. Earnest Nelson, Assistant Principal - enelson@sunflower.k12.ms.us

Lora Dean, Counselor - ldean@sunflower.k12.ms.us 

Vivian Olds, Secretary - volds@sunflower.k12.ms.us 

Jacqueline Williams, Secretary - jwilliams@sunflower.k12.ms.us  

Mrs. Gwendolyn Milton, Academic Coach - gmilton@sunflower.k12.ms.us 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCHOOL MISSION:

  • Academic Excellence
  •  Social & Cultural Enrichment
  •  Parental & Community Engagement
  •  College & Career Readiness 
                               

ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

  • Attendance Rate: 95%
  • Proficiency Rate: 85%
  • Graduation Rate: 95%
  • Average GPA: 3.0
  • Average ACT Score: 25
  • Average ASVAB Score: 65
  • Average Trade Certification: Silver

 SOCIAL & CULTURAL ENRICHMENT

  • Socially Adept (Etiquette, dress & decorum)
  • Conversational Spanish: 85%
  • International Travel: 50%

 PARENTAL & COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

  • PTO Membership: 85%
  • Community Service: 40 hours
    • On/off-campus community service projects 

 COLLEGE & CAREER READINESS (BY GRADUATION)

  • Dual Enrollment: Juniors-40% / Seniors-30%
  • AP courses: Juniors-20% / Seniors-10%
  • College/Military Acceptance: 75%
  • Graduates with Scholarships: 85% ($6 million)
  • Trade/Skill Silver Certification: 20%
  • Work Experience- 40%
  • Average Starting Salary: $35,000

 

Message from the Parent Center

School Year Reminders

  • If your child/children has a chronic illness, get a chronic illness statement fron their doctor.
  • If your child/children has asthma, please get an asthma action plan from their school and have their doctor complete it. 
  • Try to schedule doctor or dentist appointments after school. 
  • Please submit excuses for every absences.

My hours of operation are: Monday and Tuesday 7:00am to 4:00p.m.

Beverly Gilmore, Parent Community Liaison

 

 



School Events
12/11/2018
•  PLC DEPARTMENTAL MEETINGS
12/13/2018
•  2nd 9WKS TEST
12/17/2018
•  FACULTY MEETING 4 PM